Sad?

There’s something quite special about the wee three-piece band from Kilsyth and Banton in Scotland called The Twilight Sad. They’ve been going for about ten years now and released their fourth full length record ‘Nobody Wants To Be Here & Nobody Wants To Leave’ in October of last year – deservedly hailing much critical acclaim and several album of the year accolades. It’s definitely my album of the year anyway.

Many people will probably be fed up listening to me raving on about the band – as I’ve been doing so for about the past six months at least – however this post aims to be the pinnacle and culmination of my raving (it probably won’t be, I’m just saying that). Something about them just keeps me going back time and time again, and this has probably lead The Sad to being my most listened to band of 2014.

Sadly not one of those bands I can say I’ve “been there from the start with”, only having first heard of them in 2012 after the release of their third album ‘No One Can Ever Know’. Instantly I was hooked. There is something quite unique about the amalgamation of James Graham’s miserable lyrics sang in his thick Scottish accent – thankfully unlike that of Sam McTrusty’s – mixed with Andy McFarlane’s bizarre but fantastic guitar work, finished off nicely with Devine’s loud and precise drumming. It just works.

Getting the chance to see the band live three times last year was exciting. One of these was a simple, stripped-back acoustic set and then signing in HMV and the other two were loud and exhilarating full band sets in Stirling and Glasgow. All three were superb and hopefully I’ll be seeing a lot more of them in 2015. Even though I never managed to get a ticket for the King Tuts show in February, I’m hoping to somehow still be there anyway.

I’ve tried to keep this relatively short as I don’t want to keep going on and on about it. If you’ve managed to read to the end of this post then all I urge you to do now is one more thing. Five more minutes of your time is all I ask. After you’ve finished reading this, go onto YouTube and look for Nil by The Twilight Sad. Put your earphones in. Put the volume as loud as possible. Let yourself become immersed in the music. Then go out and buy all four albums.
Nil was the first song I ever heard of the band and I was simply amazed by that entire album. That’s what worked for me, so it might just work for you too.

Finally, I do understand that this music will not be for everyone, and I would imagine that the band will understand that too. All I ask is that you give them a try. You never know, you might just like them.

Listen loud and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

